Delilah – Michael Constantine McConnell

July 25, 2010 § Leave a comment

Crucified in dance and nipples

in full bloom, the seaweed body

of a girl I know will not live

forever sways. Hell flew a wax

Satan into her arms. I become

the outline of flesh eclipsing

words, ashes on paper, uncertain

thoughts, teeth, a freight train

inside of a soap bubble.

I shave my head against

you. I cannot wash

your glitter from my mouth,

and the nights are scarred

with stars. Burn my eyes, chain

my arms to stone. Steal my jaw;

shake it at the sky in eulogy.

Remember our final morning,

that slice of last October. Tell our cat

I love him. Kiss your husband as sweetly.

The Day I Watched the Earth Fall Away - James Michael Starr

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Delilah – Michael Constantine McConnell at Moulin Review.

meta

