Ohio Drive- Geoffrey Spurgin

May 7, 2009 § Leave a comment

 

Inside the Wylie Police Department station, the day crew is hard at work trying to finger the guilty. 

“Hey, Wilson? You ever read the book Brave New World?” asks Peters. 

“Shoot! Been since high school.” 

“Well, what’d your teacher tell you you were suppose to get from it?” 

“You mean like, what’s the author trying to tell us? Well, I suppose it’s a cautionary tale of the potential evils when you mess with the Almighty’s work.” 

“Well, I’ll be. I didn’t get that at all. Sure, I was scared and all at first, but then I got to thinking. That Bernard fellow was a miserable son of a bitch. Everyone else round him was happy, so all he did was try to ruin the party. I kept thinkin’ Shut up man! Not everybody hates the world like you do.” 

“But Peters. Them were BRAINWASHED people. That’s the only reason they were happy.” 

“But still… they were happy.” 

Officer Jenkins jumps in. “Bernard was trying to free those people from their mental slavery. See, they was brainwashed in the beginning.” 

“Yeah, I know. But he was also freeing them from their happiness. Way I see, if you’re happy, you’re happy. No matter how you got there.  That’s the point. Happiness.” 

“But what about freedom?” asks Wilson. 

“Les ask the captain. Captain Cunningham? What’s more important, happiness or freedom?” shouts Jenkins. 

“Hmmm . . . that’s a toughie. I gotta go with happiness. I mean, what’s  the point of freedom unless’n you’re happy? When you’re miserable, freedom don’t mean horseshit. If anything, you got nobody else to blame but yourself. That’d prolly tick me off even greater. No, I’d rather  have happiness.” 

“Well, I’ll be! Captain’s right! Happiness does sound much better than freedom,” says Wilson, slapping his knee. 

Just at that moment the radio on the wall speaks up. “Officers need  assistance at 2284 Ohio Drive.” 

“Wilson! Peters! You’re up!”

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ohio Drive- Geoffrey Spurgin at Moulin Review.

meta

