Ode to the Working Man – Nick Bennett

May 7, 2009 § Leave a comment

 

I revere your skin 
as it glides through the fields, 
that glistening sheen 
shines true of your health. 
I adore that sweat as 
it grants us asylum, 
a somatic glaze 
that stifles the heat. 
I absorb your scent 
as it speaks of hard labor, 
exchanging free smiles 
at the sign of our strength. 
I’ve learned to see 
in backlands and beauty, 
an alternate thinking 
that I will now praise. 

 

I revere your skin 

as it glides through the fields, 

that glistening sheen 

shines true of your health. 

I adore that sweat as 

it grants us asylum, 

a somatic glaze 

that stifles the heat. 

I absorb your scent 

as it speaks of hard labor, 

exchanging free smiles 

at the sign of our strength. 

I’ve learned to see 

in backlands and beauty, 

an alternate thinking 

that I will now praise.

Flower Over the Pacific - Layla Blackshear

Flower Over the Pacific - Layla Blackshear

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ode to the Working Man – Nick Bennett at Moulin Review.

meta

